NH LAW OF THE DAY: Reckless Driving
August 25, 2014 Leave a comment
LAW OF THE DAY: Reckless Driving
Here’s the law on “Reckless Driving” in New Hampshire:
TITLE XXI Motor Vehicles
CHAPTER 265 Rules of the Road – Serious Traffic Offenses
RSA 265:79 (2012)
265:79 Reckless Driving; Minimum Penalty.
Whoever upon any way drives a vehicle recklessly, or causes a vehicle to be driven recklessly, as defined in RSA 626:2, II(c)*, or so that the lives or safety of the public shall be endangered, or upon a bet, wager, or race, or who drives a vehicle for the purpose of making a record, and thereby violates any of the provisions of this title or any rules adopted by the director, shall be, notwithstanding the provisions of title LXII, guilty of a violation and fined not less than $500 for the first offense and $750 for the second offense nor more than $1,000 and his or her license shall be revoked for a period of 60 days for the first offense and from 60 days to one year for the second offense.
* RSA 626:2 II (c) General Requirements of Culpability: “Recklessly” is denied as follows:
“Recklessly”. A person acts recklessly with respect to a material element of an offense when he is aware of and consciously disregards a substantial and unjustifiable risk that the material element exists or will result from his conduct. The risk must be of such a nature and degree that considering the circumstances known to him, its disregard constitutes a gross deviation from the conduct that a law-abiding person would observe in such a situation. A person who creates such a risk but is unaware thereof solely by reason of having voluntarily engaged in intoxication or hypnosis also acts recklessly with regard thereto.
Reckless Driving in New Hampshire by Attorney Mark Stevens 603.893.0074 (24/7)
Reckless Driving charges in New Hampshire can have harsh penalties. If you have been accused of reckless driving in New Hampshire call The Law Offices of Attorney Mark Stevens to discuss your case. Mark Stevens is a DWI and Criminal Defense Lawyer. He is admitted to practice in all New Hampshire and Massachusetts state Courts. If you would like to discuss your pending case or have questions about a reckless driving charge call Mark Stevens (24/7) to set up a free consultation and initial case evaluation @ 603-893-0074 or 603.893.0261. To request a consultation online, visit us at NHCrime.com and fill out the confidential consultation request form at the bottom of the page. We look forward to speaking with you.