Law of the Day: Theft Penalties by NH DWI Defense Lawyer Mark Stevens
November 17, 2014 Leave a comment
Law of the Day: NH Theft Penalties
If you have been arrested or accused of shoplifting, willful concealment, burglary, theft, theft by deception, theft of services, receiving stolen goods, or any other criminal charges the penalties, if convicted, in the state of New Hampshire are severe.
Having an experienced attorney on your side who fights these types of cases regularly is the right course of action. Salem, NH Criminal Defense and DWI Lawyer Mark Stevens is admitted in all Courts in New Hampshire and Massachusetts.
Call Attorney Mark Stevens right now (24/7) 603-893-0074. He will know what to do. The initial case consultation and evaluation are always free (1hr.) Call 24/7 @ 603.893.0074 or 603.893.0261. We look forward to speaking with you.
Here’s a copy of the law in New Hampshire on Theft Penalties(637:11)→
Section 637:11 Penalties
637:11 Penalties. –Source. 1971, 518:1. 1977, 187:2. 1979, 266:1. 1990, 95:6. 1992, 269:14, 22, II. 2001, 174:2, eff. Jan. 1, 2002. 2010, 239:3, eff. July 1, 2010.
I. Theft constitutes a class A felony if:
(a) The value of the property or services exceeds $1,500, or
(b) The property stolen is a firearm, or
(c) The actor is armed with a deadly weapon at the time of the theft, except that if the deadly weapon is a firearm, he shall be sentenced in accordance with RSA 651:2, II-g.
II. Theft constitutes a class B felony if:
(a) The value of the property or services is more than $1,000 but not more than $1,500, or
(b) The actor has been twice before convicted of theft of property or services, as a felony or class A misdemeanor, or
(c) The theft constitutes a violation of RSA 637:5, II(a) or (b), or
(d) The property or services stolen are from 3 separate business establishments within a 72-hour period, or
(e) The property is stolen with intent to resell or distribute. It would be prima facie evidence that the offense constitutes theft with intent to resell or distribute when the theft consists of goods or merchandise in quantities that would not normally be purchased for personal use or consumption, or
(f) The property received in violation of RSA 637:7 consists of goods or merchandise in quantities that would not normally be purchased for personal use or consumption, or
(g) The actor has twice before been convicted of offenses under RSA 637:3-a, II and the present and prior convictions were based on offenses committed within a 36-month period.
III. Theft constitutes a misdemeanor if the value of the property or services does not exceed $1,000.
If you have been arrested in the state of New Hampshire or Massachusetts and are facing charges for Shoplifting, Theft, Burglary, Minor in Possession, Possession of Controlled Substance, Aggravated DWI, Disobeying an Officer, Unlawful Intoxication, Conduct after Accident, OUI, DWI, DUI, Boating While Intoxicated, or any other criminal related charges- Call the Law Office of Attorney Mark Stevens for a free consultation and case evaluation at 1-603-893-0074 or 1-603-893-0261 (24/7 or roadside!) today, we look forward to speaking with you.